Adapted Sivananda Yoga Course Online (ASYC)

Yoga is for every body. Adapted yoga makes yoga accessible to all regardless of age, medical issues, mobility or energy levels. This comprehensive Adapted Yoga Course opens up yoga to everyone, teachers and yoga practitioners alike. Yoga can be customised to fit all needs and challenges.

Join us for eight days of inspiring and heart-opening yoga.

Who can benefit from this course?

Yoga teachers
As a yoga teacher, you will acquire a Sivananda India Certificate to teach adapted yoga.

  • Offer yoga to a wider audience
  • Gain confidence to help those with physical challenges
  • Personalise and adapt postures to individual needs

Not only yoga teachers!
Perhaps you practise yoga and want to help someone in your household who has challenges; or you face difficulties yourself and want to learn to overcome them—then this course is perfect for you.

Added Benefits:

  • Conveniently timed for India, Far East, Australia, New Zealand, Middle East, USA west coast
  • PDF manual provided in advance on registration
  • Certificate of Participation issued on successful completion

Pre-requisites

  • Some knowledge of yoga (basic asana & pranayama) is required.

Upcoming Batches

8 days (with one-day break) | 7 sessions

02 – 9th April 2024 | 08:00 – 10:30 IST hrs on Zoom
(Other timezones: 19:30 – 22:00 PST [start 1st – 8th April] | 04:30 – 07:00 CET | 11:30 – 14:00 TST | 10:30 – 13:00 AWST | 12:30 – 15:00 AEST)

Donation : INR 9000 (~ 115 USD)

The Teachers

Padmini Mathur, director of the course, is an experienced yoga teacher and TTC graduate from Sivananda Dhanwantari Ashram. Her expertise lies in Senior Yoga and Adapted Yoga.

Nataraj, director of Sivananda Dhanwantari Ashram. Guest teacher. A qualified physician and senior yoga teacher.

  • Please organise
    • A yoga mat
    • A chair with a straight back and arms
    • A sturdy table
    • Two or three cushions
    • A stable, high-speed internet connection
    • Preferably a laptop or tablet (a larger screen is helpful)

Please note that the sessions will be video recorded so they can be available for

  • Any participant who is unable to attend a class.
  • For all course participants to review again what had been taught.
  • Publicity purpose.

If you do not wish to be video recorded please inform the main teacher. Your wishes will be taken into account.

SCHEDULE

DAY 1
08:00 – 08:30  Prayer / Initiation ceremony
08:30 – 09:15  Self-introductions
09:15 – 09:45  Theory Class 1: Introduction to the program
09:45 – 10:30  Theory Class 2: Body Systems / Adaptations in Yoga

DAY 2
08:00 – 08:30  Theory Class 3: Chair Yoga
08:30 – 09:30  Chair Yoga (practical)
09:30 – 10:30   Breakout groups, demos and Q&A

DAY 3
08:00 – 09:30  Regular Gentle Sivananda Yoga (practical)
09:30 – 10:30  Breakout groups, demos and Q&A

DAY 4 
08:00 – 08:45  Theory Class 4: Hypertension & Heart
08:45 – 09:45   Hypertension & Heart Yoga (practical)
09:45 – 10:30   Breakout groups, demos and Q&A

DAY 5
08:00 – 08:45 Theory Class 5: Musculoskeletal system & ailments
08:45 – 09:45  Back, knee, hips & other joints Yoga (practical)
09:45 – 10:30  Breakout groups, demos and Q&A

DAY 6 – Holiday

DAY 7
08:00 – 08:45  Theory Class 6: Digestive system & common ailments
08:45 – 09:45  Yoga for Digestive Disorders (practical)
09:45 – 10:30  Breakout groups, demos and Q&A

DAY 8
08:00 – 09:00   Group Activity
09:00 – 09:15    Compassion / loving kindness and laughter yoga
09:15 – 10:00    Feedback and sharing
10:00-10:30      Graduation